Ability:Strength of Spirit

From Flyingfrogwiki.com

Jump to: navigation, search
Last Night on Earth, The Zombie Game Game by Jason C. Hill

Contents

Strength of Spirit LNOE

May take a wound to cancel any Zombie Card on the roll of 3+.

See Aso: Father Joseph

FAQ

Q11: How does Father Joseph’s Strength of Spirit ability work?

A11: Strength of Spirit may be used at any time to attempt to Cancel a Zombie Card being played or that ‘Remains in Play’. Father Joseph first takes a wound and then rolls to cancel the Zombie Card on the roll of 3+. He may use this ability even if doing so will take his last wound, killing him (you are still allowed to roll to see if the card is cancelled). He may also use this ability multiple times to try and cancel the same card (assuming he failed the first time by rolling a 1 or 2).

He may even use this ability during a Fight. This is especially useful if he is about to lose a Fight and take his last wound. He may instead, voluntarily take his last wound to try and cancel an existing Zombie Card (sort of a ‘with his last breath’ notion).


Q12: If Father Joseph has “I Feel Kinda Strange…” played on him, can he use his Strength of Spirit to cancel it without becoming a Zombie Hero?

A12: Father Joseph may use his Strength of Spirit to cancel “I Feel Kinda Strange…” as it is being played with no problems. Once “I Feel Kinda Strange…” ‘Remains in Play’ on him though, it is a little bit more dangerous. He may try to cancel it once, by taking a wound with Strength of Spirit, but if he fails, he is immediately turned into a Zombie Hero.


Q25: Bickering is played on a space with Father Joseph and one other Hero. If Father Joseph uses Strength of Spirit (taking his last wound and killing himself) to cancel the card, but fails, does the remaining Hero left in the space still lose their turn?

A25: Yes. Because Bickering targeted the space when there were two or more Heroes there and was not cancelled, it continues to take affect even with only a single Hero remaining (at this point, the remaining Hero is probably losing their turn yelling at Father Joseph for pointlessly killing himself).


Notes from Board Game Geek

Q. Does Father Joseph take the wound for the chance of success, or does he only take the wound if he rolls a 3+?

A. When he uses the 'Strength of Spirit' ability, Father Joseph takes a wound and then rolls to see if the Zombie Card is cancelled or not. Father Joseph can use this ability even if taking the wound will kill him (he still gets to roll to see if the card is cancelled). He can even use the ability if he is about to take a wound in a Fight (as a final act of defiance!).

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/210254

A. As worded, Father Joseph must take a wound and then roll. This makes it dangerous (and exciting). There is no limit to the number of times he can use the ability (he just takes a wound for each attempt). He can even use the ability if the wound will kill him (he still gets to roll to cancel the Zombie card). Father Joseph can even use his Strength of Spirit if he has one wound left, is in a Fight, and currently losing (which is going to kill him when the Fight is resolved). He can pre-emptively take a wound to try to cancel a card on the way out (sort of a, ‘with my last breath...’ kind of thing). He can use the ability on ANY Zombie card (even ones that are 'Remains in Play'). And yes, Father Joseph and Becky are a great combo!

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/216807

Q. Can you use Father Joseph’s ability more than once to cancel a card? If you fail the first roll can you take another wound and try again?

A. Yes. You can even still use the ability if taking the wound kills Father Joseph (you still get to roll to cancel the Zombie Card).

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/270012

Last Night on Earth, The Zombie Game **************************************************************************************************

*********


A Touch of Evil, The Supernatural Game Game by Jason C. Hill

Strength of Spirit ATOE

May pay 2 Investigation to cancel any Mystery card or Event (including an Event result on the Villain's Minion Chart) on the D6 roll of 4+. Limit once per turn.

See Also: Brother Marcus

A Touch of Evil, The Supernatural Game **************************************************************************************************

*********

Personal tools